A Better Way

16 07 2008

    On average, every Christian teen is in a relationship that could never lead to marriage.  Last year 25+ girls at my high school alone were pregnant with out marriage.  How sad is that? To me, it is very sad. 

    What if there was a better way? Would anyone try to change? What if God were to use Christian girls of this generation to change the course of women’s history? Because right now, our future’s don’t look so bright. We have women who refuse to change their names when they marry. We have women trying to become president. We have women who try to rule over their husband instead of vice versa.

    Is there really anything wrong with this picture?  Most girls would call me sexist, but I think there is something terribly wrong with this picture.  Ephesians 5:22-23 says “Wives, submit to your own husbands, as to the Lord.  For the husband is the head of the wife, even as Christ is the head of the church, His body, and is itself its savior.” 

    Here we have a very profound statement for today’s culture.  It is saying that, instead of wives ruling over their husbands, as it happens so many times in today’s culture, husbands are to rule over their wives. 

    Earlier I had mentioned a better way.  Today’s young women tend to be shallow, living only for the moment at hand.  There IS hope though! God never wanted his young women messed up with shaky relationships and boyfriends that take advantage of them! He loves you! He doesn’t want to see you get hurt!

    So what is this better way?  I will go more in depth in future posts, but fore now, I will breifly explain.  Wait for the man that God already has planned for you.  Do you remember the story of how Abraham’s son Isaac found his wife? Abraham had made of his servants promise that Isaac’s wife would not be taken from the pagan land Canaan, but that he (the servant) go back to their previous home and choose a wife for Isaac there.  The servant asked God for a sign concerning the THE ONE GOD HAD ALREADY CHOSEN.  Genesis 24:44 says, “And who will say to me, ‘Drink, and I will draw for your camels.’ Let her be the WOMEN WHO THE LORD HAS APPOINTED FOR MY MASTER’S SON.” 

    This shows us that God has already picked and is preparing someone for YOU!  Since God already has it all planned, why look else where?  You might be thinking, “Now where’s the romance in THAT?”  Think about it.  Later on, on your honeymoon or something, wouldn’t it be romantic to look into the love of your life’s eyes and to tell him that he is your very first and that you’ve never given your heart away to someone I like to call a “five-minute-boyfriend.”  And then for him to say the same thing back?  Personally, I am all too excited for that moment.  I think it might be the most romantic thing I ever say to my future husband.

 

Love in Christ,

Kristin S. and Kelsea M.

Actions

Information

13 responses

16 07 2008
a'Lisa M.

WOW so fast im definately excited! congrats on being able to make the blog that is completely awesome!

16 07 2008
Imogen

hey! added your site to my blog roll.. http://www.encouragementinchrist.blogspot.com

This is such a great idea… keep trusting in God and dedicating this to Him, and I know it’ll make a difference..

Imogen xox

16 07 2008
nobody416

This is GREAT Kelsea! I am so happy this is up and running! (As you know from my PM.) I am adding you to my blogroll and remember to holler if you ever need any help. One thing is that I believe that you can change what the big header that currently says “WorthTheWaitblog’s weblog” to “Worth The Wait” under settings. Just a tip. God bless you guys and Worth the Wait. I’ll be praying!
In Christ,
Olivia
P.S. Kristin: if you are wondering who I am, I “know” Kelsea from the rebelution forums and volunteered to do what I can to help you girls out.

16 07 2008
kaysie

Wow! I am so excited about this blog and it’s message. Praise the Lord He is raising up young women to stand firm in their hearts, waiting and hoping in the Lord for everything – including their future husbands.

This post reminded me of a beautiful quote I have in the sidebar of my blog which says, “A woman’s heart should be so hidden in Christ that a man has to seek Him first to find her.”

Looking forward to more! God bless!

16 07 2008
Rose

Hey Kristin and Kelsea,
I think you guys sot guts cuz I would sure have a hard time sharing to girls that we need to let men be the head of the family or what not. But I do see that girls do think independently and that sometimes we do go kida over board.
I am some one who has never had a boyfriend and have wanted one. But now, hearing you speak of waiting in the way you do, makes me kinda want to wait, so…. keep going and bless you guys. I truly think God is using both of you for the better. bye
Rose

16 07 2008
Crystal

Great I added worth the wait to my blog!

17 07 2008
Tress

Hey Guys! (well, girls)

This is great!! The pregnancy thing is SO true. Probably not 25 in my school, but you never know, because a lot of them may get abortions. It is so sad, and I don’t know what to think or say when I overhear conversations about these things. The points about women being submissive are also really cool, because so many women and girls think that we deserve to be waited on hand and foot, and that we should decide everything. That’s not right. If you are truly in a loving relationship, then you will serve your husband, and he will love and serve you, but you will not be the “head” of the house hold. I’m pretty sure you get my point. I could go on and on (just ask your pal Olivia), but I will say goodnight, and will return soon. 🙂

18 07 2008
nobody416

Hey girls!
How many views have you gotten so far? I was just wondering. Thanks in advance.
In Christ,
Olivia

18 07 2008
Abby F.

I am so excited! Congrats on getting it so fast! You are doing a great job. May the Lord continue to bless you.

Love in the Cross,
Abby

21 07 2008
Lisa

Wow that was fast!! 🙂 Good first post. I’m looking forward to seeing more, girls 🙂

Love in Him,

Lisa
(From the Rebelution)

21 07 2008
Erika

I heard about this blog through the Rebelution, and look forward to reading it regularly! God bless you girls!

21 07 2008
Ariella

I am so excited aboat this website! May God bless you in your desire to serve Him.

In Christ Alone,
Ariella
fellow Rebelutionary

31 07 2008
Meghan

Hey! I’m also a friend of Olivia’s. I totally agree with you on everything. One of my favorite books on this type of subject is When Dreams Come True by Eric and Leslie Ludy. That book really made me see how awesome your life will be if you prepare yourself and wait for the man (or woman, if you’re a boy) that God has already picked out for you. God truly is the best romance author ever. : )
Meghan : )

Leave a Reply

