Putting Love to Sleep: Part Two

12 11 2008

I said in the last post that I was going to share my resolutions about glorifying God in my relationships with guys with you and that is what I am here to do right now. Now just to give you a heads up, some of these are a little redundant, I apologize but that is just the way they were sort of formed in my mind when I wrote them.

  • I will not give any of my heart away until I know it is the one that God has chosen for me to marry.
  • I will look at guys as brothers and not potential husbands. I will treat them with purity and respect so that if either of our future spouses were watching they would be pleased. (This is called the “eyeball” rule by Eric Ludy.)
  • I will be careful of the effect my words as a female could have on a guy. I will not use charm or flirtations to get them to do something.
  • I will not seek complements or flattery but those I do get I will respond to with humility and grace.
  • I will show respect to the young men in my life and let them lead. I will submit to Godly male leadership.  Women today are not at all submissive.  They take offense when a man tries to be a gentleman, calling it sexist.  It has gotten to the point where our roles as men and women have switched, but it’s not supposed to be that way.  I could write a whole post on this, but I think I’ll wait a while. 
  • I will not allow thoughts into my mind that are in any way lustful, impure, or sensual, but I will fill my mind with Christ and the cross. Making every thought obedient to Christ.  This is a hard one.  All girls, myself included, seem to have this problem.  Many times I catch myself looking at a guy and asking if he’s hot or whatever.  I have to mentally slap myself in order to stop it. 
  • I will not lead on guys by flirting and charm. If there are any issues with guys liking me or the think I like them I will clear it up right away.
  • I will treat all single guys like married men because someday they most likely will be.

So there you have it. I would encourage all of you reading this to make some of your own resolutions or promises on this issue. I am pretty sure that this list will grow over time as I have more and more life experiences and know more of what I need to be fighting against. May the Lord bless you all. In Christ, Olivia <><

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 11 2008
Alicia

“I will treat all single guys like married men because someday they most likely will be.”

This is definitely one of my hardest ones. Learning to think of boys as brothers in Christ, with all purity, is a big struggle. The Lord has been helping me in this area lately.

20 12 2008
Hannah (Rose)

Wow! This is a wonderful post!
Thank you so much for doing a website like this; it is very encouraging.
I believe that my hardest one is letting thoughts wounder a little to far; like you said, it is hard for all girls and young ladies.
Keep up the lovely work!

In Christ,
~Miss Hannah Rose

Leave a Reply

